Buying guide

Nooroots vs New Leaf ashwagandha: what's on the label

New Leaf's Ashwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane has almost the same ashwagandha as ours. Here's how the two labels compare, and what each costs a day.

A level balance scale with a small heap of capsules in each pan, one heap in warm tones and one in teal, on a cream background

The short answer

Both use KSM-66 ashwagandha at almost the same dose: 116.7 mg a day in New Leaf and 120 mg in ours. The difference is lion's mane: New Leaf has 40 mg of extract giving 20 mg of polysaccharides, and ours has 500 mg giving 150 mg. New Leaf costs 25p a day and ours 33p.

What we found

  • Ashwagandha: both KSM-66, at 116.7 mg and 120 mg a day.
  • Lion's mane: 40 mg of extract in New Leaf, 500 mg in ours.
  • Polysaccharides: 20 mg a day against 150 mg.
  • Price: 25p a day against 33p, checked on 17 October 2026.
  • Extras: New Leaf adds a little black pepper extract; ours has none.

What's in each one?

Both are capsules of KSM-66 ashwagandha and lion's mane extract: two a day, 120 to a pack, 60 days' worth. UK law requires each label to give the amount of every active ingredient in a day's dose [1], so here's what each says, with New Leaf first because it comes first alphabetically.

What's on each label
In a day's dose New Leaf Nooroots Ours
KSM-66 ashwagandha extract 116.7 mg 120 mg
Withanolides 5.8 mg (5%) 6 mg (5%)
Lion's mane extract 40 mg 500 mg
Polysaccharides 20 mg (50%) 150 mg (30%)
Mushroom part Not stated Not stated
Also contains Black pepper extract, 0.2 mg Nothing else
Other ingredients Brown rice flour, capsule shell Magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, capsule shell
Pack 120 capsules, bottle 120 capsules, pouch
Price, 17 October 2026 £14.95was £16.95 £19.99
Cost a day 25p 33p
Made in UK UK
Vegan Yes Yes

How does the ashwagandha compare?

It's almost the same. Both use KSM-66, a root-only extract standardised to 5% withanolides [2]: 116.7 mg a day in New Leaf and 120 mg in ours. That's 5.8 mg and 6 mg of withanolides.

The fronts of the packs differ, at 1,400 mg and 1,800 mg. Those are the extract ratios multiplied out, roughly the amount of root the extracts were made from [3], and they differ because the labels give different ratios, 12:1 and 15:1. The extract you take is about the same.

How does the lion's mane compare?

This is the real difference. New Leaf has 40 mg of a 15:1 extract at 50% polysaccharides, which gives 20 mg a day. Ours has 500 mg of a 10:1 extract at 30%, which gives 150 mg a day.

So ours has 12.5 times the extract and 7.5 times the polysaccharides. New Leaf's extract has a higher percentage, but there's much less of it in each capsule. Neither label says which part of the mushroom is used.

Polysaccharide figures are a rough guide for any brand, because unless the test removes them they also count starch and fillers such as maltodextrin [4].

Which costs less?

New Leaf does. On its own site it was £14.95 for 120 capsules when we checked, down from £16.95, which is 25p a day. Ours is £19.99, or 33p a day. Both packs last 60 days.

New Leaf is also sold more widely: Holland & Barrett, Boots and Tesco list it on their websites, as does Amazon. We sell ours on our own site and on Amazon.

Which should you choose?

  • New Leaf if you mainly want KSM-66 ashwagandha for the lowest daily cost, with a small amount of lion's mane. It's also a certified B Corporation, a standard that covers a company's social and environmental record.
  • Nooroots if you want the same ashwagandha with a much larger amount of lion's mane, for 8p a day more.

How we compared

  • We read New Leaf's label from two images: the nutrition panel on its own site and a photo of the bottle on Amazon UK. Both matched.
  • Our figures come from our own pack. Our pack says "ashwagandha root extract"; we've named it KSM-66 from our supplier's documents.
  • Prices are for one pack bought once, from each brand's own site, on 17 October 2026, with no subscription or multi-buy.
  • New Leaf didn't pay to be included, and we earn nothing from the link to its site. If something here is out of date, tell us and we'll check it.

Frequently asked questions

Is New Leaf ashwagandha KSM-66?

Yes. Its Ashwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane capsules say "Ashwagandha (as KSM-66)" on the label, at 116.7 mg of extract in two capsules.

How much lion's mane is in New Leaf's capsules?

40 mg of a 15:1 extract in two capsules, giving 20 mg of polysaccharides. The label calls it 600 mg, which is the amount of mushroom the extract was made from.

Where is New Leaf ashwagandha made?

In the UK, according to its label, which also says the KSM-66 doesn't come from the UK. Ours is made in the UK too.

Is New Leaf ashwagandha vegan?

Yes. The bottle carries a vegan badge, and the capsule shell is plant-based (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose).

How long does a bottle of New Leaf ashwagandha last?

60 days, at the label's two capsules a day. Ours lasts the same.

References

Every product figure comes from the label on the page we link to, checked on 17 October 2026. This guide is for general information and doesn't replace advice from your GP or pharmacist. We check the figures again at least every six months.

  1. The Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003 (SI 2003/1387), regulations 2 and 6. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have matching rules. legislation.gov.uk
  2. Coope OC et al. (2026). Back to the roots: safety and tolerability of standardised ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) root extract in healthy adults. A systematic review of biomarkers and adverse events. Pharmaceuticals 19(5): 725. PMID 42198398
  3. European Medicines Agency, Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products (2010). Guideline on declaration of herbal substances and herbal preparations in herbal medicinal products/traditional herbal medicinal products. EMA/HMPC/CHMP/CVMP/287539/2005 Rev.1. Written for medicines; used here for what extract ratios mean. ema.europa.eu
  4. Wu DT et al. (2017). Evaluation on quality consistency of Ganoderma lucidum dietary supplements collected in the United States. Scientific Reports 7(1): 7792. PMID 28798349

The one we make

Ashwagandha & Lions Mane Mushroom - Nootropic Brain Supplement

Our own blend, with every amount on the label.

See the product
Blue pouch of Nooroots Ashwagandha + Lion’s Mane supplement on a blue background.