Buying guide
Ashwagandha and lion's mane supplements in the UK: 13 compared
We scored every ashwagandha and lion's mane supplement we could find on sale in the UK, our own included, on the same six measures. Here are the picks, the scores and what's on each label.
- Written by
- Amy D.
- Last updated
- Reading time
- 17 min read
The short answer
We scored 13 ashwagandha and lion's mane supplements sold in the UK out of 100, on ingredient amounts, price a day, label detail, reviews, delivery and returns, and ease of use. Nooroots Ashwagandha + Lion's Mane scored highest, OMNIA came second on price and its label, Horbäach is the next cheapest a day and The Buzz! has the strongest doses.
What we found
- Scores: from 33 to 77 out of 100, on six measures weighted before we scored.
- Amounts: from 100 to 800 mg of ashwagandha extract a day, and 40 to 1,000 mg of lion's mane.
- Front of pack: figures like "5,000 mg" are what the extract was made from, not what you take.
- Price: from 10p to £1.03 a day with delivery, checked on 17 October 2026.
- Lookalikes: two pairs of products list exactly the same amounts.
Our picks
Scroll through ashwagandha and lion's mane supplements late at night and every pack seems to shout a bigger number than the last. So we scored all 13 sold in the UK out of 100, on six things that matter when you buy: how much of each ingredient you get, the price a day, how much the label tells you, reviews, delivery and returns, and how easy each one is to take. Tap a pick to see its scores.
How all 13 scored
Each product gets points for six measures, weighted like this. How we scored has the rules for each one.
- 25 Ingredient amounts
- 20 Price a day
- 20 Label transparency
- 15 Customer reviews
- 10 Delivery and returns
- 10 Ease of use
| Product | Score | Cost a daywith delivery | Ingredient amountsout of 25 | Price a dayout of 20 | Label transparencyout of 20 | Customer reviewsout of 15 | Delivery and returnsout of 10 | Ease of useout of 10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nooroots OursAshwagandha + Lion's Mane | 77 | 33p | 8.8 | 15 | 20 | 13.6 | 10 | 10 |
| OMNIALion's Mane Advanced with Ashwagandha | 74 | 10p | 4.6 | 20 | 20 | 12.2 | 7.5 | 10 |
| New LeafAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane | 70 | 25p | 2.9 | 16.8 | 15 | 15 | 10 | 10 |
| HorbäachKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Complex | 67 | 12p | 4.3 | 19.5 | 15 | 10.3 | 7.5 | 10 |
| ProwiseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Tablets | 61 | 15p | 3.2 | 18.9 | 10 | 11.1 | 7.5 | 10 |
| Neo-NutritionAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane Complex | 59 | 30p | 10.4 | 15.7 | 15 | 2.5 | 7.5 | 8 |
| UKHealthHouseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lions Mane with Black Pepper | 55 | 14p | 2.9 | 19.2 | 15 | 0 | 7.5 | 10 |
| NobleNatureAshwagandha KSM-66 4-in-1 with Lion's Mane | 52 | 40p | 8.8 | 13.6 | 20 | 0 | 2.5 | 7.5 |
| Free SoulAshwagandha KSM-66 + Lion's Mane | 50 | 52p | 10.4 | 11.1 | 15 | 2.5 | 2.5 | 8 |
| Nootro LabsAshwagandha & Lion's Mane + B Complex | 49 | 32p | 0 | 15.4 | 5 | 11.3 | 7.5 | 10 |
| The Buzz!Boom Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha KSM-66 | 48 | 90p | 25 | 2.9 | 15 | 0 | 2.5 | 3 |
| KratoxAshwagandha & Lion's Mane | 42 | £1.03 | 16.7 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Love MushroomsFocus: Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha | 33 | 81p | 7.5 | 4.8 | 10 | 0 | 2.5 | 8 |
On a phone, scroll the table sideways. Tap a heading to sort.
The picks in detail
Best overall Nooroots Ashwagandha + Lion's Mane Ours
The top score of the 13, three points ahead. It has the joint second-most lion's mane extract, 500 mg of fruiting body extract with 150 mg of polysaccharides a day, with 120 mg of KSM-66 alongside. It costs 33p a day with free delivery, has 244 reviews averaging 4.65, and its 60-day money-back guarantee covers an opened pouch.
77/100
£19.99 for 60 days33p a day, free delivery · 2 capsules a day
- Ingredient amounts8.8/25
- Price a day15/20
- Label transparency20/20
- Customer reviews13.6/15
- Delivery and returns10/10
- Ease of use10/10
- Ashwagandha120 mg KSM-66
- Withanolides6 mg
- Lion's mane500 mg fruiting body extract
- Polysaccharides150 mg
Runner-up OMNIA Lion's Mane Advanced with Ashwagandha
Second, on price and its label. At 10p a day it costs least of all, with free delivery from Amazon, and the label gives every figure, fruiting body included. 125 Amazon reviews average 4.5. The amounts are small: 100 mg of ashwagandha extract (7 mg withanolides) and 133.4 mg of lion's mane extract a day, in tablets.
74/100
£8.99 for 90 days10p a day, free delivery · 2 tablets a day
- Ingredient amounts4.6/25
- Price a day20/20
- Label transparency20/20
- Customer reviews12.2/15
- Delivery and returns7.5/10
- Ease of use10/10
- Ashwagandha100 mg extract
- Withanolides7 mg
- Lion's mane133.4 mg fruiting body extract
- Polysaccharides66.6 mg
Best value Horbäach KSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Complex
The lowest cost a day after OMNIA, at 12p. For that you get 140 mg of KSM-66 and 110 mg of lion's mane extract, and 120 Amazon reviews averaging 4.3.
67/100
£7.49 for 60 days12p a day, free delivery · 2 capsules a day
- Ingredient amounts4.3/25
- Price a day19.5/20
- Label transparency15/20
- Customer reviews10.3/15
- Delivery and returns7.5/10
- Ease of use10/10
- Ashwagandha140 mg KSM-66
- Withanolides7 mg
- Lion's mane110 mg extract
- Polysaccharides55 mg
Strongest doses The Buzz! Boom Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha KSM-66
The most of both: 600 mg of KSM-66, which works out at 30 mg of withanolides, and 1,000 mg of fruiting body extract. That takes three capsules a day, and with delivery a 30-day pack costs 90p a day, so it scores low on price.
48/100
£22.99 for 30 days90p a day with £3.99 delivery · 3 capsules a day
- Ingredient amounts25/25
- Price a day2.9/20
- Label transparency15/20
- Customer reviews0/15
- Delivery and returns2.5/10
- Ease of use3/10
- Ashwagandha600 mg KSM-66
- Withanolides30 mg, worked out
- Lion's mane1,000 mg fruiting body extract
- PolysaccharidesNot stated
Best tablet Prowise KSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Tablets
The best-scoring tablet after OMNIA: 15p a day with free delivery, and 60 reviews averaging 4.65. The amounts are modest, at 125 mg of KSM-66 and 46.7 mg of lion's mane extract.
61/100
£8.99 for 60 days15p a day, free delivery · 2 tablets a day
- Ingredient amounts3.2/25
- Price a day18.9/20
- Label transparency10/20
- Customer reviews11.1/15
- Delivery and returns7.5/10
- Ease of use10/10
- Ashwagandha125 mg KSM-66
- WithanolidesNot stated
- Lion's mane46.7 mg extract
- Polysaccharides23.3 mg, worked out
The other eight
Missing out on a pick doesn't mean missing the point. Here are the rest in score order, with what sets each one apart.
-
70
New Leaf Ashwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane
4.8 from 315 reviews on its own shop, free delivery, a money-back guarantee and 25p a day, but light amounts: 116.7 mg of KSM-66 and 40 mg of lion's mane extract.
-
59
Neo-Nutrition Ashwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane Complex
The same amounts as Free Soul's tablets, 250 mg of KSM-66 and 417 mg of fruiting body extract, in capsules for 30p a day. One review so far.
-
55
UKHealthHouse KSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lions Mane with Black Pepper
The same amounts as New Leaf for 14p a day with free delivery, but no reviews on its shop.
-
52
NobleNature Ashwagandha KSM-66 4-in-1 with Lion's Mane
Good amounts of both and every figure on the label, but £1.99 delivery, returns for unopened packs only and no reviews on the page.
-
50
Free Soul Ashwagandha KSM-66 + Lion's Mane
250 mg of KSM-66 and 417 mg of fruiting body extract in tablets, with £2.99 delivery and four reviews.
-
49
Nootro Labs Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane + B Complex
127 Amazon reviews averaging 4.4, but the label doesn't say how much of either extract you take.
-
42
Kratox Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane
500 mg of each extract, and the dearest a day at £1.03 with delivery.
-
33
Love Mushrooms Focus: Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha
The most ashwagandha extract, 800 mg, at 1.5% withanolides (12 mg). £4.25 delivery and no reviews on its page.
What's on each label
These are the amounts in one day's dose, as each label sets it. Love Mushrooms has the most ashwagandha extract, 800 mg, but at 1.5% withanolides that's 12 mg; The Buzz!'s 600 mg at 5% works out at 30 mg. Six name the fruiting body, the mushroom's cap and stem; the rest don't say which part.
| Product | Ashwagandha | Withanolides | Lion's mane | Part used | Polysaccharides |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nooroots OursAshwagandha + Lion's Mane | 120 mgKSM-66 | 6 mg | 500 mg | Fruiting body | 150 mg |
| OMNIALion's Mane Advanced with Ashwagandha | 100 mg | 7 mg | 133.4 mg | Fruiting body | 66.6 mg |
| New LeafAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane | 116.7 mgKSM-66 | 5.8 mg | 40 mg | Not stated | 20 mg |
| HorbäachKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Complex | 140 mgKSM-66 | 7 mg | 110 mg | Not stated | 55 mg |
| ProwiseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Tablets | 125 mgKSM-66 | Not stated | 46.7 mg | Not stated | 23.3 mgworked out |
| Neo-NutritionAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane Complex | 250 mgKSM-66 | Not stated | 417 mg | Fruiting body | 125.1 mgworked out |
| UKHealthHouseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lions Mane with Black Pepper | 116.7 mgKSM-66 | 5.8 mgworked out | 40 mg | Not stated | 20 mg |
| NobleNatureAshwagandha KSM-66 4-in-1 with Lion's Mane | 250 mgKSM-66 | 13 mg | 267 mg | Fruiting body | 133.3 mg |
| Free SoulAshwagandha KSM-66 + Lion's Mane | 250 mgKSM-66 | Not stated | 417 mg | Fruiting body | 125.1 mgworked out |
| Nootro LabsAshwagandha & Lion's Mane + B Complex | Not on the label | Not stated | Not on the label | Not stated | Not statedat least 40% of the extract |
| The Buzz!Boom Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha KSM-66 | 600 mgKSM-66 | 30 mgworked out | 1,000 mg | Fruiting body | Not stated |
| KratoxAshwagandha & Lion's Mane | 500 mg | 25 mgworked out | 500 mg | Not stated | Not stated125 mg beta-glucans |
| Love MushroomsFocus: Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha | 800 mg | 12 mgworked out | 200 mg | Not stated | Not stated |
Price, pack size and what else is in each
| Product | Price | Deliveryone pack | Pack lasts | A day's dose |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nooroots OursAshwagandha + Lion's Mane | £19.99 | Free | 60 days | 2 capsules |
| OMNIALion's Mane Advanced with Ashwagandha | £8.99Amazon UK | Free | 90 days | 2 tablets |
| New LeafAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane | £14.95was £16.95 | Free | 60 days | 2 capsules |
| HorbäachKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Complex | £7.49Amazon UK | Free | 60 days | 2 capsules |
| ProwiseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Tablets | £8.99was £9.99 | Free | 60 days | 2 tablets |
| Neo-NutritionAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane Complex | £8.99Amazon UK | Free | 30 days | 2 capsules |
| UKHealthHouseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lions Mane with Black Pepper | £8.24 | Free | 60 days | 2 capsules |
| NobleNatureAshwagandha KSM-66 4-in-1 with Lion's Mane | £15.99was £22.99 | £1.99 | 45 days | 2 capsules |
| Free SoulAshwagandha KSM-66 + Lion's Mane | £12.49 | £2.99 | 30 days | 2 tablets |
| Nootro LabsAshwagandha & Lion's Mane + B Complex | £18.99Amazon UK | Free | 60 days | 2 capsules |
| The Buzz!Boom Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha KSM-66 | £22.99 | £3.99 | 30 days | 3 capsules |
| KratoxAshwagandha & Lion's Mane | £24.99AOB Nutrition | £5.99 | 30 days | 2 capsules |
| Love MushroomsFocus: Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha | £19.99 | £4.25 | 30 days | 2 capsules |
| Product | Also contains | Made in | Vegan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free SoulAshwagandha KSM-66 + Lion's Mane | Zinc 2 mg, vitamin B6 0.21 mg | UK | Yes |
| HorbäachKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Complex | Black pepper extract | UK | Yes |
| KratoxAshwagandha & Lion's Mane | Nothing else | Not stated | Not stated |
| Love MushroomsFocus: Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha | Vitamin B12 5 µg, vitamin D3 5 µg | UK | Yes |
| Neo-NutritionAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane Complex | Zinc 2 mg, vitamin B6 0.21 mg | Not stated | Yes |
| New LeafAshwagandha KSM-66 & Lion's Mane | Black pepper extract 0.2 mg | UK | Yes |
| NobleNatureAshwagandha KSM-66 4-in-1 with Lion's Mane | Zinc 10 mg, vitamin B1 1 mg | UK | Vegetarian |
| Nooroots OursAshwagandha + Lion's Mane | Nothing else | UK | Yes |
| Nootro LabsAshwagandha & Lion's Mane + B Complex | 8 B vitamins at 100% NRV, black pepper | UK | Yes |
| OMNIALion's Mane Advanced with Ashwagandha | Vitamin B1 4.4 mg, black pepper powder 200 mg | UK | Yes |
| ProwiseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lion's Mane Tablets | Black pepper extract 2 mg | UK | Yes |
| The Buzz!Boom Lion's Mane + Ashwagandha KSM-66 | BioPerine (black pepper) 3 mg | USA | Not stated |
| UKHealthHouseKSM-66 Ashwagandha & Lions Mane with Black Pepper | Black pepper extract 0.2 mg | Not stated | Yes |
Two pairs with the same label
Free Soul and Neo-Nutrition list the same amounts in the same order. So do New Leaf and UKHealthHouse. We can't tell from the labels whether each pair comes from the same maker, so each has its own row. If you like one of a pair, it's worth checking the other's price.
New Leaf's has almost the same amount of KSM-66 as ours, so we've compared the two in Nooroots vs New Leaf: what's on the label.
What to look for on the label
The front of a pack is the advert and the panel on the back is the facts. Three things on that panel do most of the work.
The extract amount, not the big number
Most packs lead with a figure like "5,000 mg". That's the extract ratio multiplied out: roughly how much dried root or mushroom went into the extract, not how much you take [1]. Think of a juice carton that tells you how many oranges went in, not how much juice is inside. Ours does it too: "5,000 mg lion's mane" stands for the 500 mg of extract in a day's dose. UK labels must also give the amount in a day's dose [2], and that's the figure to compare.
Withanolides, for ashwagandha
Withanolides are the compounds ashwagandha extracts are measured by [3]. Multiply the extract by its percentage: 600 mg at 5% gives 30 mg. KSM-66 is a root-only extract standardised to 5% [4].
The part and the polysaccharides, for lion's mane
Look for the part used and a polysaccharide or beta-glucan figure. Polysaccharide figures are a rough guide, because unless the test removes them they also count starch and fillers such as maltodextrin [5]. That matters most for mycelium grown on grain, which leaves a lot of grain in the product [6]. Beta-glucans are a narrower measure.
The fruiting body and the mycelium are richer in different compounds [7], and no published trial has compared them, so neither part has been shown to be better.
How we scored
Every product was scored by the same rules, ours included. Each measure is scored against the rest of the 13, not against a target. For the amounts used in published studies, see our research pages on ashwagandha studies and lion's mane studies.
- Ingredient amounts (25 points). Half for withanolides a day against the most of the 13 (30 mg), half for lion's mane extract a day against the most (1,000 mg). Where a label names KSM-66 but no percentage, we used KSM-66's own 5% [4]. An amount the label doesn't give scores nothing.
- Price a day (20 points). One pack bought once, plus its delivery, divided by the days it lasts. The cheapest a day scores 20, the dearest 0 and the rest in between. Where a shop had a sale on, we used the sale price.
- Label transparency (20 points). Five points each for giving both amounts, the withanolides, the part of the mushroom, and the polysaccharides or beta-glucans.
- Customer reviews (15 points). Up to 7.5 for how many reviews the product page shows, and, from 20 reviews up, up to 7.5 for the average: 4.0 or lower scores nothing and 4.8 or higher scores in full. Trustpilot scores for a whole shop don't count, because they aren't about the product.
- Delivery and returns (10 points). Five for free delivery on one pack. Five for a money-back promise that covers an opened pack, or 2.5 for returns of unopened packs only.
- Ease of use (10 points). Up to 4 for the number a day (two or fewer scores in full), up to 3 for how long a pack lasts (60 days or more scores in full) and 3 for vegan, or 1.5 for vegetarian.
- The picks follow fixed rules: best overall and runner-up are the top two scores, best value is the lowest cost a day, strongest doses has the most withanolides and lion's mane extract, and best tablet is the top-scoring tablet. Each product takes one pick; where a pick's leader already has one, it goes to the next in line.
We included every capsule or tablet on sale in the UK that we could find on 17 October 2026 whose two main ingredients are ashwagandha and lion's mane; vitamins, minerals and black pepper were fine, other herbs weren't. We read each label panel and went with it where the website said something different, and we checked delivery charges at each shop's checkout. For the four sold on Amazon we used the one-time price, not Subscribe & Save, and Amazon's free delivery on a first order. We left out Liekoh, which is sold only in the US and adds other herbs, and OQO, which we couldn't find on sale. Our pack says "ashwagandha root extract" and doesn't name the mushroom part; we've named KSM-66 and the fruiting body from our suppliers' certificates of analysis, which we keep on file rather than publish.
No brand paid to be included, and we earn nothing from links to other brands. If something here is out of date, tell us and we'll check it.
Frequently asked questions
Can you take lion's mane and ashwagandha together?
Yes. No interaction between them is known, though no published trial has tested the pair. Our guide to taking lion's mane and ashwagandha together covers timing and who should check with a GP first.
What are withanolides?
They're natural compounds found in ashwagandha, and extracts are standardised to a set percentage of them [3]. The percentage tells you how concentrated an extract is.
What percentage of withanolides should ashwagandha have?
There's no set figure. KSM-66 is standardised to 5%, and the other extracts in a 2026 review of trials used 1.5% to 2.5% [4]. Another counts a different group of compounds, at 35% [8], so check what a percentage measures, then compare the milligrams in a day's dose.
How many withanolides should you take a day?
There's no official amount. Most trials of KSM-66 in healthy adults used 600 mg a day, which at 5% is 30 mg [4]. Follow the dose on your product's label.
Can you take lion's mane with ashwagandha and magnesium?
No interaction between the three is known. If you add magnesium, the NHS says 400 mg a day or less from supplements is unlikely to cause harm [9]. Our guide to how much magnesium to take has more.
Is New Leaf ashwagandha good?
Its ashwagandha is KSM-66, at 116.7 mg a day with 5.8 mg of withanolides, alongside 40 mg of lion's mane extract. We've compared it with ours in Nooroots vs New Leaf.
References
Every study here is listed so you can read it yourself, and every product figure comes from the label on the page we link to. This guide is for general information and doesn't replace advice from your GP or pharmacist. We check the figures again at least every six months.
- European Medicines Agency, Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products (2010). Guideline on declaration of herbal substances and herbal preparations in herbal medicinal products/traditional herbal medicinal products. EMA/HMPC/CHMP/CVMP/287539/2005 Rev.1. Written for medicines; used here for what extract ratios mean. ema.europa.eu
- The Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003 (SI 2003/1387), regulations 2 and 6. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have matching rules. legislation.gov.uk
- Avula B et al. (2026). A comparison of British and US Pharmacopoeia standards for quality of ashwagandha dietary supplements in commerce. Phytotherapy Research 40(8): 4833–4844. PMID 41386716
- Coope OC et al. (2026). Back to the roots: safety and tolerability of standardised ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) root extract in healthy adults. A systematic review of biomarkers and adverse events. Pharmaceuticals 19(5): 725. PMID 42198398
- Wu DT et al. (2017). Evaluation on quality consistency of Ganoderma lucidum dietary supplements collected in the United States. Scientific Reports 7(1): 7792. PMID 28798349
- Sweeney LC et al. (2026). Advances in enzymatic measurement of β-glucan in mushrooms, yeast, algae, and dietary supplements. Journal of AOAC International, published online 18 May 2026: qsag041. PMID 42152188
- Tang Y et al. (2026). Simultaneous UHPLC-UV determination of hericenones, hericenes, erinacines and ergosterol in Hericium erinaceus raw materials or products. Molecules 31(3): 569. PMID 41683546
- Lopresti AL et al. (2019). An investigation into the stress-relieving and pharmacological actions of an ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extract: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Medicine 98(37): e17186. PMID 31517876
- NHS. Vitamins and minerals: others (magnesium section). Accessed 17 October 2026. nhs.uk/conditions/vitamins-and-minerals/others